RegVault

UN R10 Supplement 1 (07 series) · UNECE Regulation No. 10 (ECE R10) — Uniform provisions concerning the approval of vehicles with regard to electromagnetic compatibility.

UN R10 — Supplement 1 to the 07 series of amendments

Base text → Supplement 1

Adopted at the WP.29 197th sessionEntry into force 2026-06-04
What changed
  • In Table 2 of Annexes 4, 5, 7 and 8, the scanning receiver “Step size” of 50 kHz is now a “Maximum step size” of 60 kHz.
  • In Annexes 4 and 7, Tables 1 and 2 no longer give parameters for the average detector.
  • Tables 19a and 19b for ESAs in REESS charging mode now give immunity levels only for BCI and ALSE.
Why
  • A fixed step size of exactly 50 kHz is not in line with CISPR 16-2-3.
  • The proposal says that ESAs in REESS charging mode coupled to the power grid are tested only by ALSE and BCI.
  • Appendix 1 lists two versions of ISO 7637-2, so each reference must show which version applies.

Q1What changed194 changes

Test plan wording and ISO 7637-2 editions (paras. 6.1.2., 6.7.1., 7.1.2., 7.17.1., 7.19.1. and Annex 10)

In paragraphs 6.1.2. and 7.1.2., the Technical Service now “shall” prepare the test plan, not “has to”. Paragraphs 6.7.1., 7.17.1. and 7.19.1. now refer to “ISO 7637-2:2011” instead of “ISO 7637-2”. In Annex 10, the references for test pulses 1, 2a, 2b, 3a and 3b and for the emission measurement now read “ISO 7637-2:2011”. For test pulse 4, the reference “ISO 7637-2, second edition 2004” now reads “ISO 7637-2:2004”. In Table 20 of paragraph 7.19.1., the heading “FPSC for systems:” now reads “FPSC for ESA”.

Before testing, the Technical Service has to shall prepare a test plan in conjunction with the manufacturer, which contains at least mode of operation, stimulated function(s), monitored function(s), pass/fail criterion(criteria) and intended emissions.
Before testing the Technical Service has to shall prepare a test plan in conjunction with the manufacturer, for the configuration "REESS charging mode coupled to the power grid" configuration which contains at least mode of operation, stimulated function(s), monitored function(s), pass/fail criterion (criteria) and intended emissions.
7 more changes in this group — open in Compare

Immunity levels for ESAs in REESS charging mode (para. 7.18.2.1., Tables 19a and 19b)

Tables 19a and 19b now give immunity test levels only for BCI and ALSE. The entries for stripline, TEM cell and reverberation chamber are deleted.

Stripline TEM cell Reverberation chamber 60 V/m 75 V/m 21 V/m Not applicable Not applicable 7 V/m
Stripline TEM cell Reverberation chamber 50 V/m 62,5 V/m 18 V/m Not applicable Not applicable 6 V/m

Referenced standards (Appendix 1, Annex 5 and Annex 22)

Appendix 1 updates the titles and the edition notes of many listed standards. IEC 61000-3-12 now refers to Edition 1.0 - 2004, not edition 2.1 – 2011 and AMD1:2021. ISO 11452-3 now refers to the Fourth edition 2024, and CISPR 16-1-1 to Edition 5.0: 2019. In Annex 5, if the annex does not state otherwise, the test must now follow CISPR 12, not “CISPR 12 or CISPR 25”. Annex 22, paragraph 5.1.1., now requires tests in accordance with IEC 61000-4-5 instead of IEC 61000-4-4.

CISPR 12 "Vehicles', motorboats' and spark-ignited engine-driven devices' radio disturbance characteristics - Limits and methods of measurement", fifth edition 2001 and AMD1:2005.CISPR 12 "Vehicles,boats, and internal combustion engine driven devices - Radio disturbance characteristics - Limits and methods of measurement for the protection of receivers except those installed in the vehicle/boat/device itself or in adjacent vehicles/boats/devices", Edition 5.1 - 2001 and AMD1:2005.
CISPR 16-1-4 "Specifications for radio disturbance and immunity measuring apparatus and methods - Part 11-4: Radio disturbance and immunity measuring apparatus apparatus - Antennas , antennas and test sites for radiated disturbances mesaurements", fourth edition measurements", Edition 4.2 - 2019, AMD1:2020 and AMD2:2023.
32 more changes in this group — open in Compare

Scanning receiver step size and detectors (Annexes 4, 5, 7, 8, 13 and 19)

In Table 2 (scanning receiver parameters) of Annexes 4, 5, 7 and 8, the “Step size” of 50 kHz is now a “Maximum step size” of 60 kHz. In Annexes 4 and 7, Tables 1 and 2 now give parameters only for the peak and quasi-peak detectors. The average detector parameters in these tables are deleted. In Table 2 of Annexes 13 and 19, the heading “Step size” now reads “Maximum step size”.

Average detector RBW at -3 dB Minimum scan time 100/120 kHz 100 ms/MHz
Average detector Step size a Step size a BW at -6 dB Step size a Minimum dwell time 50 kHz 50 kHz 120 kHz 50 kHz 5 ms Maximum step size a Maximum step size a Minimum Dwell dwell time 60 kHz 60 kHz
6 more changes in this group — open in Compare

Vehicle immunity test methods and the “Brake mode” table (Annex 6)

For vehicles that are not “large vehicles”, Annex 6, paragraph 1.3., now says that rear irradiation is specified in paragraph 5.1.3. Paragraph 1.3. also has a new sentence for the additional antenna positions of “large vehicles”. For REESS charging mode, only the electronic systems and wiring harnesses required for charging mode must be considered for antenna positions. Figure 1 of paragraph 1.4. has a changed flowchart that shows the box “Large vehicle as defined in Annex 6, paragraph 1.1”. In the “Brake mode” table of paragraph 2.1.1.2., the failure criterion of the ADS row no longer reads “ADS failure situation”. It now reads “ADS does not remain in a failure safe mode or expected failure operational mode”.

• with front irradiation for vehicle not considered as “large vehicles””. Rear irradiation is specified in paragraph 5.1.3.
• with front irradiation and with additional antenna positions for “large vehicles”. Additional antenna position(s) shall be chosen by the manufacturer in conjunction with the Type Approval Authority after considering the distribution of electronic systems with immunity related functions and the layout of any wiring harness. Tests shall be performed with levels defined in paragraph 6.4.2.1. of this Regulation. For REESS charging mode, only the electronic systems and wiring harnesses required for charging mode shall be considered for antenna positions.
2 more changes in this group — open in Compare

Charging mode flowcharts and figure keys in the annexes

The charging mode flowcharts in Annexes 4, 6, 11, 12, 13, 15 and 16 are changed. In the figure keys, “Legend” now reads “Key”. Many key entries lose the colon after the number, and many explanations now start with a lower-case letter. Some keys for the power mains socket no longer refer to “7.3.2.2” or “7.3.3.2”. In the NOTEs on cable alignment, “need not be aligned” now reads “may not be aligned”. In the key of Figure 2 of Annex 7, Appendix 1, several items have new numbers.

[figure changed][figure changed]
Legend:Key
117 more changes in this group — open in Compare

Artificial networks (Appendix 8) and the Model B approval mark (Annex 1)

In Appendix 8, the HV-AN impedance is now measured between the “ESA HV” and “GND” terminals, not the “Vehicle/ESA HV” terminals. In the key of Figure 11, C1 is now 1,1 nF instead of 1 nF. In the key of Figure 6, another value of C2 now “shall be justified”, not “has to be justified”. In Annex 1, the Model B example now says that UN Regulation No. 10 included the 07 series of amendments, not the 06 series. The footnote “The second number is given merely as an example.” is deleted.

The HV-AN impedance ZPB (tolerance ± 20 %) in the measurement frequency range of 0,1 MHz to 100 MHz is shown in Figure 2. It is measured between the “Vehicle/ESA ESA HV” and “GND” terminals (of Figure 3) with a 50 Ω load on the measurement port and with the “HV supply” and “GND” terminals short circuited.
If unshielded HV ANs HV-ANs are used in a single shielded box, then there shall be an inner shield between the HV ANs HV-ANs as described in Figure 4.
16 more changes in this group — open in Compare
See every change side by side in Compare

Q2Why it changed

Proposed by
Experts from the Informal Working Group on Electromagnetic Compatibility (IWG EMC)
Working party
GRE, 92nd session (April 2025)

Reasons

  • A fixed step size of exactly 50 kHz is not in line with CISPR 16-2-3. Not all FFT-based measuring receivers can meet it in FFT mode. Annexes 4 and 7 measure broadband emission, so only the peak and quasi-peak detectors apply there.

    Sources (3)
    “A fixed step size requirement of exactly 50 kHz is not in line with CISPR 16-2-3.”
    “a fixed step size requirement of exactly 50 kHz cannot be fulfilled in Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) mode with all kinds and brands of FFT based measuring receivers”
    “Annex 4 and Annex 7 shall be applied to measure the broadband emission from vehicle and ESA. Therefore, only Peak and Quasi-Peak detector shall be applied.”
  • The proposal says that ESAs in REESS charging mode coupled to the power grid are tested only to ISO 11452-2 (ALSE) and ISO 11452-4 (BCI). For this reason, it calls the TEM cell, stripline and reverberation chamber entries in Tables 19a and 19b wrong or misleading.

    Sources (2)
    “shall only be tested acc. to ISO 11452-2 (Absorber Lined Shielded Enclosure- ALSE) and ISO 11452-4 (Bulk Current Injection - BCI)”
    “listing the transversal electromagnetic (TEM) cell, strip line and reverb chamber methods in Tables 19a and 19b of paragraph 7.18.2.1. is wrong or misleading”
  • Appendix 1 lists two versions of ISO 7637-2. Without the year in each reference, users of the Regulation do not know which version to use.

    Sources (2)
    “Appendix 1 references two versions of ISO 7637-2.”
    “If this change is not made, the users of the Regulation will not know which version to use.”
  • The titles of several EMC standards changed with their new editions, so Appendix 1 should show the new titles. The earlier update of IEC 61000-3-12 was made without a revision of paragraphs 7.3. and 7.1.1. and Annexes 11 and 17. The proposal says that its test method and evaluation changed significantly and are not consistent with the 07 series text. The update of the standard will be considered after a thorough revision of these paragraphs.

    Sources (4)
    “As this has been the case for several standards, their titles should be updated accordingly.”
    “the reference to IEC 61000-3-12 was updated without revising 7.3., 7.1.1., Annex 11 and Annex 17.”
    “The test method and evaluation of test results have changed significantly and are not consistent with the present wording of the 07 series of amendments.”
    “The update of the standard will be considered after thorough revision of the concerned paragraphs”
  • Annex 22 covers surges on AC and DC power lines for ESAs, so its reference standard should be IEC 61000-4-5. IEC 61000-4-4 covers fast transients and bursts.

    Sources (2)
    “Annex 22 addresses surges conducted along alternate current (AC) and direct current (DC) power lines for ESAs. Therefore, the reference standard should be updated to IEC 61000-4-5.”
    “The erroneously cited standard IEC 61000-4-4 addresses fast transients/bursts.”

Document trail

  1. 2025-02ProposalECE/TRANS/WP.29/GRE/2025/3Proposal by IWG EMC
  2. —Amended in sessionGRE-92-24Revised proposal by IWG EMC that GRE adopted with the proposal
  3. —Working party adoptsECE/TRANS/WP.29/GRE/92Session report, para. 26
  4. 2025-08Sent to WP.29ECE/TRANS/WP.29/2025/110Text that GRE sent to WP.29 and AC.1
  5. 2025-11WP.29 adoptsECE/TRANS/WP.29/1188Adopted at the 197th session (session report, para. 110)
  6. 2026-06-04In forceC.N.195.2026.TREATIES-XI.B.16.10UN depositary notification

Q3Who is affected

Vehicle manufacturer

  • Check approval mark drawings based on the Model B example in Annex 1 against the updated example.
  • Check your test reports against the standard editions now listed, for example IEC 61000-3-12 Edition 1.0 - 2004.

Component supplier

  • Check ESA immunity test plans in REESS charging mode for stripline, TEM cell or reverberation chamber levels, now deleted.
  • Update ISO 7637-2 references in your ESA documents to ISO 7637-2:2011, or ISO 7637-2:2004 for test pulse 4.
  • Check that ESA surge tests under Annex 22, paragraph 5.1.1., follow IEC 61000-4-5, not IEC 61000-4-4.

Technical service / Approval authority

  • Check scanning receiver settings against the new “Maximum step size” of 60 kHz in Annexes 4, 5, 7 and 8.
  • Check Annex 4 and Annex 7 test settings against Tables 1 and 2, which no longer list the average detector.
  • In Annex 5 tests, follow CISPR 12 where the annex does not state otherwise; CISPR 25 is no longer named.

See every change side by side

RegVault customers compare every version of UN regulations, read the consolidated text and download the PDF.

ⓘ This report gives advice only. It is not legal or type-approval advice.

More UN R10 change reports

All UN R10 change reports